Henna Root Touch-Up

Tools and ingredients for mixing and applying henna.

Tools and ingredients for mixing and applying henna.

It’s henna time again!

This is my fist root touch up and I’m a bit nervous about it! I’m worried I will miss spots or go too far up the hair and get some kind of funky color.

Which reminds me…the first time I used henna and indigo my hair was tinged very green. I really started to freak but found some sites that said the color takes 24 hours to develop and it was true. By the time I woke up the green tint was gone and by the end of the day the color had settled to a nice brown.

The second time I used henna and indigo the indigo didn’t take! It washed out quite a bit during the rinse and I had dark red roots. I realized I forgot to add lemon and salt to the indigo mixture. I had to order more indigo from Amazon and pay expedited shipping, lol.

After reapplying the indigo and rinsing until the water ran clear (it never ran clear the last time) my roots still looked reddish. I thought the color didn’t take again. I went to bed thinking I’d deal with it in the morning. By morning my roots were the perfect color.

Point being, give it a day before you freak if your color isn’t what you expected whether it’s a whole head or touch-up application.

So today is my root touch-up. I have to go through the same process of applying henna first, rinsing, then applying indigo.

You can find instructions on how to mix henna or indigo properly on one of my recent previous posts. This post will only cover the root touch up. Note this application process applies to indigo as well. Also, the amount of time you leave henna or indigo on your hair is dependent on the results you desire.

Here we go!

Supplies:

Clean, freshly washed damp or dry hair with no product in it

Mixed henna (see instructions here)

Gloves

Shower cap

Towel

Color application spatula

Hand towel or paper towels

Large mirror

Hand-held mirror

Hair clips

Instructions:

Ready to go.

Ready to go.

1. Set up your supplies so they are easy to access. I suggest using henna in your bathroom. You may want to use plastic or garbage bags to cover your work area including the wall behind you and the floor.

Almost forgot.

Almost forgot.

2. Section hair using hair clips to keep in place. I do 4 sections.

3. Put on your gloves.

4. Start in front center by applying henna to one side of your center part using your hair spatula. Apply liberally going up about an inch from the root.

First line of color.

First line of henna at center part.

5. Slide the pointed end of your hair spatula under the line of color to section a thin layer of hair. Fold hair over and apply henna on the other side of the original line of henna. 

6. Repeat the process of applying a line of henna on the next layer of roots, using the pointed end of hair spatula to section small portion, fold hair over and apply henna to other side of line of henna. Continue until all roots are covered. Use your handheld mirror to see the back of your head. Wipe up drips with paper towels as you go.

Second line of henna.

Second line of henna.

Finally starting my last section :)

Finally starting my last section 🙂

7. Put shower cap over head.

Make sure to lay the cap a little past the root.

Make sure to lay the cap a little past the root.

8. Wipe excess henna off face, ears and neck using a damp hand towel or paper towel.

9. Wrap towel around head over shower cap.

Cover ears and a good portion of forehead with towel to collect any dripping.

Cover ears and a good portion of forehead with towel to collect any dripping.

10. Hurry up and wait…. I leave my henna on for about 4 hours. I leave indigo on for 2 hours. While waiting for it to process I watch TV, play games with my son, check emails, watch YouTube, cook, etc…

9. Rinse thoroughly until water runs clear. Henna comes out fairly easy for me but indigo is more difficult. If rinsing indigo I use a gentle cream conditioner to rub it out of my scalp.

Holy orange! On to the indigo...

Holy orange! On to the indigo…

10. If you are finished coloring, blow dry with heat or air dry. Use minimal product. Do not wash for a minimum of 24 hours, 48 is recommended.

11. If you are going for brown or black you can apply indigo after rinsing the henna. Follow the same process.

20140706_214857

Final color of henna & indigo on pure white roots. The color will develop a bit more overnight.

Tips on Preparation & Application:

Wear junky clothes and use the same ones every time you use henna.

Use the same towels every time.

Wash clothes and towels separate from others.

Don’t use the disposable gloves that come in your henna box. They will leak. Buy a nice pair of thick elbow length latex gloves. I got mine new in package for $3 at a thrift store.

Get in the shower to rinse henna. It’s messy.

Mix indigo about an hour before you rinse the henna out.

If you have course textured hair apply henna while damp. It will be easier to manage.

Listen to music while you henna. Applying it is long, tedious and boring. Jam to some music!

Make sure ALL the henna is rinsed out before using indigo. Indigo binds to henna, not to your hair. If you have “loose” henna and apply indigo on top, the indigo will wash out (with the loose henna).

 

This entry was posted in Hair, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment